Sunday , 25 August 2019
Home / Sports / Datuk Lee Chong Wei crowned SAM-100 Plus Sportsman of the Year

Datuk Lee Chong Wei crowned SAM-100 Plus Sportsman of the Year

Friday, 3 March 2017


KUALA LUMPUR: World number one Datuk Lee Chong Wei was crowned Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM-100 PLUS 2016) Sportsman of the Year, here yesterday in a glittering ceremony.

The 34-year-old Rio de Janeiro Olympics silver medal winner beat 6 other nominees namely Pandelela Rinong-Cheong Jun Hoong (diving), Goh V Shem/Tan Wee Kiong (badminton) and Chan Peng Soon/Goh Liu Ying (badminton) to clinch the title.

Also nominated for the award were national track cycling sensation, Azizulhasni Awang, 3 time world silat champion, Mohd Al-Jufferi Jamari and national Moto3 rider Khairul Idham Pawi.

The victory was the second for Chong Wei who had won the same award on 2008.

Among the achievements of Chong Wei in 2016 was clinching the silver medal in the men’s badminton singles in the Rio Olympics.

He also regained his ranking as the world number 1 men’s singles player and winning his sixth Indonesian Open title after coming back from an 8 month suspension for using a banned substance.

Meanwhile, Mohamad Ridzuan Mohamad Puzi was voted Best Paralympic Athlete after his historic feat in winning the country’s first Paralympic gold medal in the men’s 100m T36 event at the Rio Paralympic Games.

In the same year, the Perlis-born athlete also won gold medals at the 5th China Open International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletics Championship and IPC Athletics Asia-Oceania Championship.

Chong Wei and Ridzuan each received a trophy and RM10,000 cash presented by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.

Rising diving star, Nur Dhabitah Sabri was chosen as the recipient of the Best Young Athlete Award for displaying excellent and consistent performances to enter the final of the women’s 10m platform event at the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

The National Silat Federation (PESAKA) was selected as the recipient of the Dynamic Sports Association Award based on the success of its athletes in winning medals at every championship and for its credible leadership and determination in improving the quality of silat in the country.

At the award ceremony, Megat Syafique Syazwan Mohd Khairul, a student of Bukit Jalil Sports School, was chosen as the Best Player in the Education Ministry Football League for 2016.



Best Athlete — Datuk Lee Chong Wei (Badminton)

Best Paralympic Athlete — Mohamad Ridzuan Mohd Puzi (Athletics)

Best Young Athlete — Nur Dhabitah Sabri (Diving)

Dynamic Sports Association — National Silat Federation

Best KPM 2016 League Player — Megat Syafique Syazwan Mohd Khairul

Source by: Internet

Leave a Reply

WooCommerce Themes Free